Sale!

Weird Fishes by Rae Mariz

$5.99$18.99

“Mariz combines dense, realistic science with lush, fantastic description … The relationships at the heart of this tale manage to be both completely human and utterly unbeholden to the above-water dynamics readers might take for granted. The resulting novella feels entirely fresh and inventive. Fans of Caitlin Starling and Maggie Tokuda-Hall will be especially wowed.” — Publishers Weekly starred review

“Weird Fishes is a lyrical and heartfelt adventure that celebrates how the ocean connects us all and reminds us that we need to take good care of Her.”
— Nina Munteanu, author of author of Water Is… and A Diary in the Age of Water

“Weird Fishes is a vibrant, beautiful exploration of oceans teeming with lives and cultures unknown to humans. This book is a must for anyone who loves the sea! ”
— Julia Rios, creator of Mermaids Monthly magazine

A delightful underwater fantasy novella. Coming in August 2022.

Clear
SKU: N/A Categories: , , , ,

Description

About the Book

AN UNDERWATER TALE OF FRIENDSHIP AGAINST MONSTROUS ODDS

When Ceph, a squid-like scientist, discovers proof of the ocean’s slowing currents, she makes the dangerous ascent from her deep-sea civilization to the uncharted surface above. Out of her depths and helpless in her symbiotic mech suit, Ceph relies on Iliokai, a seal-folk storyteller, who sings the state of the sea and has seen evidence of clogged currents as she surfs the time gyres throughout the lonely blue. Navigating the perils of their damaged ocean environment, and seemingly insurmountable cultural differences, Ceph and Iliokai realize that the activities of terrestrial beings are slowing the spiralling currents of time. On a journey that connects future and past, the surface and the deep, the unlikely friends struggle to solve a problem so big it needs a leviathan solution.

About the Author

Rae Mariz is a speculative fiction storyteller and cultural critic. Her writing inhabits the ecotone between science fiction and fantasy, and features characters finding family with others who live in the gaps between. She’s the author of The Unidentified and co-founder of Toxoplasma Press. Find her work at raemariz.com and on Twitter @raemariz.

Additional information

Book Format

Print, EPUB, MOBI, PDF

Page count

unknown

ISBN

9781777682347 (trade), 9781777682354 (ebook)

Publication Date

August 2022

Genre

fantasy, climate fiction, novella

Subject

climate change, ocean life, ocean currents, folklore, Hawaii

Cover Artist

Julia Louise Pereira

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Weird Fishes by Rae Mariz”

Your email address will not be published.